i would live in your love (satb) (#4 of teasdale poems)


  • Catalog ID: S-242
  • First Line: i would live in your love
  • Composer: Phyllis E. Zimmerman
  • Voicing: satb
  • Accompaniment: a cappella
  • Language: English
  • Country: United States
  • Other: 2006 women
  • Score: View Score
  • Sound: Listen


This octavo contains four settings of the poems by Sara Teasdale (1884-1933).  The four poems in this octavo are: “Life Has Loveliness to Sell,” “To-Night,” “Dusk in June,” and “I Would Live in Your Love.”

“I Would Live in Your Love” offers understated and apparently obvious wordpainting possibilities.  The opening delicately sways as sea grasses might; the beating heart is so convincing in sound we might take a pulse, if we were not already entranced by the motion and splendor of the music.