milost mira (satb)


  • Catalog ID: R-05
  • Composer: Piotr Chaikovsky
  • Voicing: satb
  • Accompaniment: a cappella
  • Language: Church Slavonic
  • Country: Russia
  • Other: sacred
  • Score: View Score
  • Sound: Listen


The great Russian composer, Piotr Ilyich Chaikovsky (1840-1893), author of magnificent symphonies, operas and ballets, left a more humble inheritance in the area of sacred music: The Liturgy of St. John Chrysostom, Op. 41 (1878), The All-Night Vigil, Op. 52 (1881), and ten short choruses.  This piece is the 9th of The Liturgy’s 15 pieces.  It consists of two main parts: the opening series of responses and the closing Sanctus et Benedictus with its joyous Hosannas.