life has loveliness to sell (satb)


  • Catalog ID: S-242
  • First Line: life has loveliness to sell
  • Composer: Phyllis E. Zimmerman
  • Voicing: satb
  • Solo: S
  • Accompaniment: a cappella
  • Language: English
  • Country: United States
  • Other: 2006 women
  • Score: View Score
  • Sound: Listen


“Life has Loveliness to Sell” is the first of the four settings of the poems by Sara Teasdale contained in the octavo Four Lyrics of Sara Teasdale.  A soprano soloist opens each of the first two stanzas, followed by the collective female voices, with the men closing each stanza.  The final verse is shared from the outset, but the most noteable characteristic of the work is the greater abundance of major key moments and shimmering chords that reflect, from the inside out as it were, the beauty of the precious sights and circumstances that are on the poet’s list of lovely things.

Other poems in the octavo: “To-Night”, “Dusk in June”, and “I Would Live in Your Love.”