morena bonita (satb)


  • Catalog ID: S-183
  • First Line: morena bonitao que vemve?
  • Composer: Ronaldo Miranda
  • Voicing: satb
  • Accompaniment: a cappella
  • Language: Portuguese
  • Country: Brazil
  • Other: 2003 cd05 south america
  • Score: View Score
  • Sound: Listen


#1 of ”suite nordestina”; 2.dende trapia; 3.bumba chora; 4. eu vou; recorded on cd-05.  All four pieces are in one octavo.


Ronaldo Miranda finished his Suite Nordestina in 1982.  Suite Nordestina (Northeastern Suite) is a four-movement choral suite freely based on folk melodies from Northeastern Brazil.  Because of its folk content, the arrangements have a certain nationalistic flavor with simple harmonies and syncopated rhythmic patterns.  It is also interesting to notice the presence of the embolada style in the second and fourth movements.  Embolada is a poetic-musical process from the coastal areas of NE Brazil characterized by a somewhat declamatory melody, very fast and repetitive passages, and a comical text.